The following information is offered to help you avoid the need for DWI defense and what to do if you do get stopped for DWI.
About every 20 minutes in Texas, someone is hurt or killed in a crash involving alcohol. We urge you to take responsibility for your actions. Don’t drink and drive. However, you are innocent until proven guilty and we will give 110% effort to your defense.
Please do not drink and drive. If you plan to drink, you should have a designated driver or hire a cab. Hiring a cab is much cheaper than the cost of a DWI arrest which can exceed $20,000. These costs include court fees, parole fees and increased insurance costs to you. In addition, you may be forced to do community service on weekends and in your free time which is usually at least 100 hours.
Under the U.S. Constitution you have the right to not incriminate yourself. This is because the founding fathers had the experience of being accused of crimes, and then having the burden to prove their innocence. So, the burden is on the government now to prove your guilt.
If you are arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol is a criminal offense that can have serious legal consequences. You must immediately get experienced legal representation for your DWI Defense.
The Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Program Driving in Texas applies to individuals arrested for DWI. Individuals who refuse or fail a blood or breath test following an arrest for DWI may have their driver license suspended from 90 days to 2 years. Refusal or failure of this test will also result in an automatic one-year disqualification for individuals with a commercial driver license.
If you are criminally convicted not only will you lose your license but you could end up paying a large fine and even lose your freedom. This depends upon the following:
First Offense (Class B misdemeanor)
License suspension of 90 days to one year, up to a $2,000 fine and 72 hours to six months in jail.
Second offense (Class A misdemeanor)
License suspension or revocation from 180 days to two years, up to a $4,000 fine and from 30 days to one year in jail.
Third offense (Third degree felony)
License revocation up to two years, up to a $10,000 fine and anywhere from two to 10 years in prison.
Being charged with DWI or even DUI is a very serious matter and requires legal representation by an attorney such as David L. Sheller of The Sheller Law Firm who is an expert in DWI Defense and Trial Litigation
If you’ve been arrested for drunk driving, you can depend on Sheller Law Firm to fight for you. We have helped thousands of people and we are well-trained in the art of determining the best course of action for anyone facing down DWI charges.